Awards and Applications

Equal Opportunities Section Awards

Equal Opportunities Section Student Travel Award

Emmeline Moore Prize
Application Form

The American Fisheries Society (AFS) has established a career achievement award, named after the first female AFS president, Emmeline Moore (1927-1928), to recognize efforts of an individual member in the promotion of demographic diversity in the society. This award will be presented to an individual who demonstrates strong commitment and exemplary service to ensuring equal opportunity access to higher education in fisheries and/or professional development in the broad range of fisheries science disciplines. Qualified nominees must exhibit clear evidence of service and commitment to diversity initiatives, including a strong research or fisheries management leadership background, public understanding of diversity issues, technical and popular writing, and inspirational leadership. Candidates should also have enunciated principles that lead to greater involvement of under-represented groups in fisheries science, education, research or management. Nominees for the award are restricted to AFS members.

J. Frances Allen Scholarship Award
For a Female PhD Student in Fisheries

The American Fisheries Society (AFS) is pleased to announce that applications are being accepted until April 1, 2016, for the J Frances Allen Scholarship for a female doctoral fisheries student. The J Frances Allen Scholarship was established in 1986 to honor Allen, who pioneered women’s involvement in the AFS and in the field of fisheries. The scholarship fund was established with the intent of encouraging women to become fisheries professionals. The qualified applicant must be a female PhD student conducting aquatic research in line with AFS objectives and be an AFS member as of December 31, 2015.

The award recipient will receive a $2,500 scholarship and there are no restrictions on  the use of the funds.

Eligibility: The qualified applicant must be a female PhD student who was an AFS member as of December 31, 2015. The applicant must be conducting aquatic research in line with AFS objectives, which include “all branches of fisheries science, including but not limited to aquatic biology, engineering, fish culture, limnology, oceanography, and sociology”. Typically, this award is given to a student who has completed preliminary exams.